Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
9

Riffs & Rants from the Road: Episode 16

A short reading (by the glow of the laptop's light).
9

Sometimes a piece just feels different when it’s read aloud; this week’s essay, “The Rattle of Words,” might be one of those times. I’m hanging out with a friend whose perspective on both life and drafts I value enormously and who shows unreasonable patience as I waft into and out of her house at all hours, tracking dust on her floors with my dirty bare feet, spilling snacks, trailing sticks. I was lucky enough to get her feedback on about forty-eleven drafts of this piece, and she recorded this one, read here by the glow of the laptop light. I hope you enjoy it, friends. Peace.

Thanks for reading Going Solo at the End of the World! This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share

Discussion about this podcast

Going Solo at the End of the World
Riffs & Rants from the Road
Join me on a solo journey through the United States and beyond. Riffs & Rants roam far and wide while staying short & sweet.* You'll get weekly reports from the road, readings of great travel writing by authors both legendary and obscure, conversations with fellow travelers at truck stops, campgrounds, diners, and dive bars, and stellar interviews with some of today's best artists, writers, and thinkers.
*I cannot commit to "sweet."